Sussex Rocks 2012 with Richard Perkins | Day 5

Class of 2012

Student Performance

The students put on amazing performance for friends and family at the Willingdon Community School in Eastbourne. The 60+ minute set included:


  1. Californication – Red Hot Chilli Peppers
  2. Smells Like Teen Spirit – Nirvana
  3. Enter Sandman – Metallica
  4. Highway To Hell – AC/DC

Thomas (Sax) Band

  1. Crazy Little Thing Called Love – Queen


  1. Knockin’ On Heaven’s Door – Bob Dylan/G N’ R
  2. House of the Rising Sun – The Animals
  3. Run To You – Bryan Adams
  4. I Love Rock ‘N’ Roll – Joan Jett and the Blackhearts


  1. Walking By Myself – Gary Moore
  2. Victim of Changes – Judas Priest
  3. One Step Beyond – Madness

Videos and photos to follow…


Sussex Rocks 2012 with Richard Perkins | Day 4

The penultimate day is always one of last minute line up changes and song promotion and demotion from the bands set lists. Today was just that day with new songs added to performance sets and other songs thrown out.

New songs today included “One Step Beyond” made famous by Madness, which was an instrumental B-side written by Jamaican ska singer Prince Buster. The song can be found on the bands 1979 debut album “One Step Beyond…” and is bound to remind any parents in the audience on gig night of their high school disco dancing days!

One Step Beyond – Madness

Another great track that was new to the bands today was the Joan Jett hit “I Love Rock N’ Roll“, which is another cover version and was originally recorded and released by the English band Arrows. The track took the #1 spot across all US singles charts in 1982.

I Love Rock ‘N’ Roll – Joan Jett and the Blackhearts

Finally, a favourite track this week has been “Crazy Little Thing Called Love” by Queen. The rock n roll inspired track bounces along with a steady shuffle back beat and bright open string chords that were written by Freddie Mercury in the bathroom!

Intro Riff: “Crazy Little Thing Called Love” by Queen (Brian May)

The song uses the Dsus4 to add movement into an otherwise static, and potentially dull sounding, D major chord. This embellishment compliments the shuffle rhythm and is a great memorable hook to open the tune.

Sussex Rocks 2012 with Richard Perkins | Day 1

Sussex Rocks kicked off today with 17 budding rockstars looking to further their game during the week-long Monsters of Rock Summer Camp!

After a short introduction with Sussex Rocks tutors Richard and Jason the students split themselves into four bands and headed to the rehearsal rooms to begin the days band workshops.

The bands spent all day working on classic rock material from Deep Purple and AC/DC to The Troggs and Queen! One band had a saxophonist (Thomas) and jammed the Gerry Rafferty classic ‘Baker Street‘…

…while other bands knocked out rousing renditions of AC/DC’s ‘Highway To Hell‘ and Bob Dylan’s ‘Knockin’ On Heaven’s Door‘.

A highlight of the day was bringing the youngsters together and watching them enjoy playing with other musicians, many for the very first time. One particular favourite track was ‘House Of The Rising Sun‘ by The Animals.

The traditional American folk song was a hit for the English rock band in 1964 and was a #1 chart hit for the group in five countries, including United Kingdom and United States.

House Of The Rising Sun – The Animals

Intro Riff: “House Of The Rising Sun” – The Animals

The main hook of the song is built around a repeating 6/8 broken chord arpeggio rhythm and features predominantly open chords, which is great for the beginner guitarist.